Port aux Basques Piranhas wrap up swim season

Bryan Tait bryan.tait@tc.tc
Published on June 13, 2016

The Port aux Basques Piranhas Swim Club held its year-end banquet June 1. Several swimmers received awards, including, front, from left: Dylan MacDougall, Cohen Cook, Sara George, Abigail Willis and Zackery Warren, back, Kaitlyn Kettle, Chloe Tapp, Heidi George, Kayla Warren, Emily Graham and Nicholas Davis.

©Submitted photo

It was a solid season for the Port aux Basques Piranhas, and the swim club's year-end banquet was a testament to that success.

The club gathered June 1 to recognize the achievements of swimmers and thank the coaches, executive members and parents who give their support.

The club also announced member Emily Graham has been awarded a 2016 Dedicated Swimmer Award by Swimming Newfoundland and Labrador. Graham was one of 11 swimmers from across the province to receive the award.

Along with the various awards, the Piranhas celebrated a milestone in their support of Swim for Hope. This year the club raised $13,000, bringing their all-time total to more than $100,000.

Six club members received medals from Swimming Newfoundland and Labrador for their fundraising efforts.

Money raised at Swim for Hope is split between the Dr. H. Bliss Murphy Cancer Care Foundation and the participating clubs of Swimming Newfoundland and Labrador.

Piranhas 2015-16 award winners

Kaitlyn Kettle – Pre-competitive Coach's Award

Chloe Tapp – Pre-competitive Most Improved Swimmer

Cohen Cook – Most Determined Pre-competitve Swimmer

Abigail Willis – Most Spirited Pre-competitive Swimmer

Zackery Warren – Pre-competitive Swimmer of the Year

Dylan MacDougall – Competitive Coach's Award

Sara George – Most Improved Competitive Swimmer

Heidi George – Most Determined Competitive Swimmer

Kayla Warren – Most Spirited Competitive Swimmer

Nicholas Davis – Competitive Swimmer of the Year

Emily Graham – Leadership Award, Swimming Newfoundland and Labrador Dedicated Swimmer Award