CeeBees sweep HNL senior awards

Published on March 26, 2017

Cody Squires of the St. John’s Caps looks on as CeeBee Stars goaltender A.J. Whiffen makes one of his 41 saves en route to a 4-0 shutout win in the season-opening game for the CeeBees and Caps in Avalon East Senior Hockey League play at the Danny Cleary Harbour Grace Community Centre on Saturday.

©Nick Mercer/TC Media/The Compass

The Harbour Grace Ocean Enterprises CeeBee Stars took all the major provincial senior awards handed out by Hockey Newfoundland and Labrador before Game 1 of the Herder Memorial Trophy provincial final against the Clarenville Caribous Saturday in Harbour Grace.

CeeBees’ goaltender A.J. Whiffen was presented with both the Gus Soper Memorial (MVP) and President’s (top netminder), while Matthew Thomey received the S.E. Tuma Memorial Award as top scorer in the provincial senior ranks.

The CeeBees, the Avalon East Senior Hockey League senior champ, were awarded The Telegram Tophy as the senior team with the best record in the regular season.