Port aux Basques minor hockey closes the book on season

Bryan Tait bryan.tait@tc.tc
Published on May 14, 2016

Association president Cecil Parsons, left, presented the President's Award to Lorna Coffin. Coffin is a longtime volunteer with minor hockey in Port aux Basques.

©Bryan Tait photo

The achievements of dozens of minor hockey players were honoured, and the hard work of coaches and volunteers recognized at the Port aux Basques Minor Hockey Association's year-end banquet May 6.

Guest speaker Andrew Parsons, current MHA and a former player and past president of the association, said minor hockey is more than a sport. He said it teaches players the importance of hard work, discipline and teamwork, skills the players can take with them beyond their hockey careers.

Graduating midget player Andrew Graham, left, received the Sam Rose Memorial Award from Sam Rose Jr. The award is given to a graduating midget player who has shown perseverance and dedication to hockey.

©Bryan Tait photo

Major award winners included Lorna Coffin, who received the President's Award for her dedication to the association, and Barry Fudge, who received the Joe Lane Hockey Development Award.

Nick Drover, left, and Sara Strickland cut the cake at the minor hockey banquet. Drover is the oldest midget player in the association and Strickland is the youngest player in the atom division.

©Bryan Tait photo

Port aux Basques Minor Hockey Association awards


Most Improved Player: Mackenzie Hardy, Owen LeRiche

Most Dedicated Player: William Dominie, Dalton Street

Most Sportsmanlike Player: Sam Carter, Taylor Osmond

Offensive MVP: Cameron Tapp

Defensive MVP: Matthew Lefrense

Easter tournament MVP: Andrew Mercer


Most Improved Player: Jordin Hatcher, Dylan Macdougal

Most Dedicated Player: Clarke Reid, James Fagan

Most Sportsmanlike Player: Cameron Thorne, William Street

Offensive MVP: Tyler Bryan

Defensive MVP: Liam Ingram

Easter tournament MVP: Marcus Farrell (Team A), Julissa Hodder (Team B)


Most Improved Player: James Muise, Thomas Sheppard

Most Dedicated Player: Luke Penny, Marcus Street

Most Sportsmanlike Player: Colby Street, Jared Osmond

Offensive MVP: Alexander Carter

Defensive MVP: Shane Anderson

Easter tournament MVP: James Bond


Most Improved Player: Hannah Dominie, Alex Dominie

Most Dedicated Player: Nick Courtney, Luc Strickland

Most Sportsmanlike Player: Samantha Dominix, Jasmine Walters

Offensive MVP: Noah King

Defensive MVP: Brady Aucoin

Easter tournament MVP: Nick Drover

Under-15 Female

Most Improved Player: Mackenzie Chant

Most Dedicated Player: Megan Savory

Most Sportsmanlike Player: Hannah Anderson

Offensive MVP: Megan Clarke

Defensive MVP: Samantha Lefrense

Easter tournament MVP: Rachael Walters

Ashley Warren Memorial Award: Tori Dominix

David Stone Memorial Award: Ryan Savoury

George B. Pike Memorial Award: Andrew Clarke

Sam Rose Memorial Award: Andrew Graham

Volunteer of the Year: Melanie Dominix

Coach of the Year: Earl LeRiche

Joe Lane Hockey Development Award: Barry Fudge

President's Award: Lorna Coffin

Graduating midget players: Andrew Clarke, Nick Courtney, Nick Drover, Andrew Graham, Josh Morrison, Taylen Musseau, Issac Richards, Ryan Savoury