Top News

Nine people received awards at NLTA convention


ST. JOHN’S NL — The Newfoundland and Labrador Teachers Association (NLTA) recognized nine of its own today at its biennial general meeting in St. John’s.

The event is being held at the Sheraton Hotel. It began Tuesday and wraps up Friday.
At the convention today, four people were recognized with the Bancroft Award named after James Frederick Bancroft, the first president of the NLTA. Jamie Jenkins (Holy Heart High School in St. John’s) of the St. John’s Centre Branch, Peter McCormack (retired from Menihek High School) of Labrador West Branch, and Katherine Rowsell (Corner Brook Regional High) of Humber Branch were recipients for 2016, while Christina Cox (Frank Roberts Junior High in Foxtrap) of the St. John’s Centre Branch is the recipient for this year. The award recognizes outstanding service at the branch level of the NLTA.
Robert Matthews (Humber Elementary) of Corner Brook will be recognized for receiving The Barnes Award for 2016, while this year’s recipient is Kellie Baker (St. Matthew’s School) of St. John’s. The Barnes Award — named after Arthur Barnes, the first minister of Education in the province — recognizes outstanding professional development services by teachers at the special interest level.
This year’s Special Recognition Award — presented annually to an active member of NLTA who has made a major contribution to the cultural, social and/or community life of Newfoundland and Labrador — is going to Deborah Green of Humber Branch.
Roberts Parsons (retired and lives in Grand Bank) of GranForLine Branch was recognized with the award for 2016.
Also, Geralyn Costello of Mount Pearl received the Patricia Cowan Award for support and promotion of education. She has worked with the NLTA for almost 42 years, and is currently the executive assistant governance.

Recent Stories